White Sangria Sparkler

After a long couple of months, we have made it! Moving from Alaska to San Antonio, Texas is no small task. I’ve had my kitchen in boxes for 2 months and can finally say…”Wahooo I’m ready to cook again!”

So I figured my first post should be a celebratory one. Or maybe I needed an excuse to make a fantastically refreshing beverage?

This twist on the classic sangria is PERFECT for a hot summer day…night, morning! I won’t judge 🙂

My husband, the notorious wine hater, looked mighty funny trying to conceal his wine glass full of sangria on the balcony. HAH I caught ya enjoying wine my dear!

This recipe makes a large batch, so feel free to cut it in half if needed.

Here’s my recipe

White Sangria Sparkler

simple syrup (recipe below)

2 bottles (750 ml) moscato, I use a moscato d’asti for the bubbles

1 cup peach schnapps

1 bottle (750 ml) sparkling water

2 oranges, 1 juiced and 1 sliced

2 lemons, sliced thin

2 limes, sliced thin

small bunch of grapes

Directions:

Start by making the simple syrup. To a skillet add 2 cups of water, 1/2 cup granulated sugar, 4 star anise, a small palmful of whole cloves, and 2 stems of mint leaves. Bring to a slow simmer over low heat, stirring occasionally. Simmer for 10 minutes then remove from heat, strain and allow to cool.

In a large glass pitcher, add the grapes, sliced lemons and limes, and the sliced orange.

Next, slowly pour in the bottles of moscato, the sparkling water, peach schnapps, and the spiced syrup.

Slowly stir the mixture until thoroughly combined.

Now the hard part….WAIT!

While you CAN drink this after 3 hours in the refrigerator, it is WAY better the following day. So make up a batch and have it ready for your friends…or yourself 🙂

To serve: Fill a large wine glass halfway with ice, ladle in some of the fruit, then fill with the chilled sangria! Drink and repeat.

Hope you enjoy,

Modern Mrs. Cleaver

1 Comment

Filed under General

One response to “White Sangria Sparkler

  1. Dorothy

    Where in Ak did u live ?? I live in Ak

Leave a Reply

